











IUSA Annual Conference Transatlantic Sound - Is Effective Communications Losing out in a Time of Change



23rd January 2020 | Westbury Hotel, Dublin







Transatlantic Sound - Is Effective Communications Losing out in a Time of Change



What

With new Transatlantic relationships on the horizon, how is the world going to change in 2020? Join us at The Westbury Hotel to hear prominent speakers set out their view on the current state of the world and our potential future. The format of the conference will include lightning talks of 8 minutes each, followed by moderated panel discussion and audience Q&A.

Following the conference, the IUSA Distinguished and Emerging Leader Awards will be presented to alumni who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in our community.

Where & When

5pm until 10pm, 23rd January 2020 at The Westbury Hotel, Dublin.

How much

€65 Congress is open to everybody.

Twitter Hashtag

#IUSACon20

Dinner

Yes. Dinner is included. A three course meal prepared by the Westbury chefs is included in the conference fee.

How Do You Sign Up

Sign up through Paypal on the website http://www.irishusalumni.com/conference/

Programme

- 15.00 IUSA Annual AGM and Board Elections 2020 Registration
- 15.30 IUSA Annual AGM and Board Elections 2020 (IUSA Members Only)
- 16.30 Conference Registration and Welcome Reception

17.00 Lightning Talks: 'Transatlantic Sound - Is Effective Communications Losing out in a Time of Change'

- Dr. Cara Augustenborg
- Mr. Matthew O'Toole
- · Mr. Michael Lonergan

Q & A moderated by Ms. Martina Fitzgerald

19:00 Networking Reception in The Sidecar Bar

20.00 Awards Dinner

Presentation of Alumni Awards 2020

Prof. John Kelly and Dr. Marguerite Nyhan

22.00 Event ends



Our Line Up

We have a mixture of keynote speakers and interactive discussions throughout the programme. Please check out our website for full updates and links to the speakers.

Tweet throughout the day using our Twitter handle @irishusalumni #IUSACon20

www.irishusalumni.com/conference



Dr. Cara Augustenborg

Dr. Cara Augustenborg is an environmental scientist by training and a media pundit by passion. Image Magazine named her as one of 18 women to watch in 2018. She is currently a Senior Fellow in Environmental Policy at University College Dublin and serves as Chairperson of Friends of the Earth Europe. Dr. Augustenborg was appointed to Council of State by President Michael D Higgins in 2019.



Mr. Matthew O'Toole

Matthew O'Toole MLA is a Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP) politician who has served as a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for the Belfast South constituency in the Northern Ireland Assembly since January 2020. Matthew O'Toole was Chief Press Officer for Europe at Number 10 Downing Street between 2015 and 2017. As a civil servant, he helped coordinate UK Government communications efforts during the EU referendum campaign and in its aftermath, through to the beginning of the formal Brexit negotiations. He left Downing Street last Autumn.



Mr. Michael Lonergan

Michael Lonergan is current Deputy Director General for Trade at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He served as Deputy Chief of Mission at the Embassy of Ireland in Washington DC from August 2015 to 2019. Prior to taking up this appointment he served in Dublin with 'Irish Aid' as Director for Southern Africa, Palestine and South East Asia..



Ms. Martina Fitzgerald

Martina Fitzgerald has almost twenty years senior level media experience and is the author of the best-selling and critically acclaimed book 'Madam Politician' based on the experiences of Ireland's female ministers and presidents. She was a Visiting Fellow at Columbia University in New York in the autumn of 2019. Prior to 2019, Martina was Political Correspondent with RTÉ News & Current Affairs where she reported on major political stories, general elections and the referendums on marriage equality and the Eighth Amendment.



Ambassador, Edward F. Crawford

President Donald J. Trump nominated Edward F. Crawford to be United States Ambassador to Ireland on October 23, 2018. Ambassador Crawford was Chairman and CEO of The Edward Crawford Group, Inc. in Cleveland, Ohio, since 1985 and Chairman and CEO of Park-Ohio Industries, Inc. in Cleveland from 1992 until May of 2018. He previously held positions as President of Crawford Container Company in Conneaut, Ohio; Vice President Operations of Clarke Can Company, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; and President and CEO of Cleveland Steel Container in Cleveland, Ohio.

Distinguished and Emerging Leader Alumni Awards





Prof. John Kelly

John J. Kelly is a senior Irish academic who has made a major contribution to US/ Irish academic links. A professor of chemical engineering, he was Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at University College Dublin where he was also Registrar and Deputy President of the College.



Dr. Marguerite Nyhan

MaryDr. Marguerite Nyhan is a Lecturer (US equivalent - Assistant Professor) in Environmental Engineering at the National University of Ireland - University College Cork and a Visiting Scientist at Harvard University in Boston. While conducting her PhD in Environmental Engineering in Trinity College Dublin, Nyhan was invited to Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Boston to conduct research and was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship at this time.



Mr. Vincent McCarthy

Vincent Mc Carthy is the Co-founder & CEO of The Festival of Curiosity, which is Dublin's annual international festival of science, arts, design & technology with over 45,000 attendees each year. Vincent previously was the Curator of Dublin City of Science 2012 at the Irish Office of the Chief Scientific Adviser. He worked with the Irish Department of Foreign Affairs as a consultant on science and technology projects in Mozambique.

Web: <u>irishusalumni.com</u> Twitter: @irishusalumni Facebook: /irishusalumni